Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Liberty Case News.

― Advertisement ―

HomeMalaysia News14 MPs Withdraw Support From Muhyiddin Yassin: UMNO Confirms

14 MPs Withdraw Support From Muhyiddin Yassin: UMNO Confirms

UMNO on Monday made it clear that at least 14 party MPs have withdrawn support from Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin. To corroborate its claim, the party posted its two letters sent to Agong dated July 30 and August 4 on Facebook. The letters were signed by UMNO chief President Ahmad Zahid Hamidi. Both letters shared on UMNO’s Facebook’s page claims more than a dozen MPs are ready to leave Muhyiddin’s camp. Several MPs have already resigned from Muhyiddin Yassin’s cabinet since the UMNO decided to withdraw its support for the ruling government.

Follow MyShorts, News in 60 Words

[expander_maker id=”4″ more=”Click Here To Read This Story In Detail” less=”Read less”]

Meanwhile, in a letter dated Aug 4, Ahmad Zahid detailed the names of 14 UMNO MPs, including himself, who had signed a Declaration of withdrawal of support for the National Alliance (PN) government and the Prime Minister.

They include Najib Razak (Pekan Member of Parliament), Ahmad Maslan (Pontian), Shamsul Anuar Nasarah (Lenggong), Abdul Azeez Abdul Rahim (Baling), Azalina Othman Said (Pangerang), Bung Moktar Radin, Ahmad Jazlan Yaakub (Machang), Nizar Zakaria (Parit), Ahmad Nazlan Idris (Jerantut), and Ramli Mohd Nor (Cameron Highland).

The other three MPs are Datuk Mohamad Alamin (Kimanis); Tan Sri Noh Omar (Tanjung Karang) and Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah (Gua Musang).

Last week on 3 August, UMNO decided to withdraw support from PM Muhyiddin Yassin, claiming that PM has lost his majority and legitimacy.