Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Liberty Case News.

― Advertisement ―

HomeMalaysia NewsConference of Rulers to Elect 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong and Deputy :...

Conference of Rulers to Elect 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong and Deputy : Report

In a historic event, the Conference of Rulers in Malaysia convened to elect the 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong (King) and Deputy King. This process is a crucial aspect of Malaysia’s unique constitutional monarchy. The selection involved discussions among the nine state rulers, ensuring a fair and balanced representation. The newly elected Agong and Deputy King will play pivotal roles in the nation’s governance and cultural heritage preservation.

Read This News In Detail

In a significant event, the Conference of Rulers is set to convene a special meeting to select the 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong for Malaysia. The meeting, scheduled to commence at 10 am at Istana Negara, will witness the participation of nine Malay Rulers who will cast their votes to choose not only a new Yang di-Pertuan Agong but also a new Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

This special meeting is called as the reign of Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah, the 16th Yang di-Pertuan Agong, is set to conclude on January 30 next year. Al-Sultan Abdullah assumed the federal throne on January 31, 2019, following his election to the office of Yang di-Pertuan Agong at the Conference of Rulers’ special meeting on January 24 of the same year.

The selection process adheres to Section 2, Part 1 of the Third Schedule of the Federal Constitution. According to this section, the Conference of Rulers is obligated to offer the office of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong to the qualified Ruler whose state is first on the election list. If the initial Ruler declines the offer, the Conference of Rulers proceeds to offer it to the Ruler of the subsequent state on the election list, and so on until an Ruler accepts the position.

It’s important to note that the election of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong follows a rotation system agreed upon by all nine Malay Rulers. The rotation cycle, initiated in 1957 when the office was established, listed Negri Sembilan as the first in line, followed by Selangor, Perlis, Terengganu, Kedah, Kelantan, Pahang, Johor, and Perak.

Malaysia stands as one of the 43 countries worldwide practicing a system of constitutional monarchy and remains unique as the sole nation employing a rotation system among its nine Malay rulers. This meeting holds great significance for the nation as it determines the leadership of the monarchy and its role in Malaysia’s governance.