Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Liberty Case News.

― Advertisement ―

HomeMalaysia NewsIsmail Sabri To Be Next PM: Agong Confirms

Ismail Sabri To Be Next PM: Agong Confirms

Dato’ Sri Ismail Sabri bin Yaakob will be the next Prime Minister of Malaysia, the Agong today confirmed. The announcement comes after a meeting of all provincial rulers at Istana Negara. Earlier, a group of 114 MPs from UMNO, Bersatu and Barisan Nasional had announced their support for UMNO deputy president Ismail Sabri for PM’s post. Ismail Sabri will be the 9th Prime Minister of Malaysia. He will takeover from Muhyiddin Yassin, who was forced to resign after UMNO leaders withdraw his for him.

Ismail Sabri had resigned as 13th Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia in the outgoing government (from July 2021 to August 2021). Ismail Sabri Yaakoob is the Vice-President of the United Malays National Organisation (UMNO), a component party of the BN coalition which is aligned with the Perikatan Nasional coalition.

Follow MyShorts, News In 60 Words

[expander_maker id=”4″ more=”Click Here To Read This Story In Detail” less=”Read less”]

Istana Negara said in statement that in accordance with Article 40 (2) (a) and Article 43 (2) (a) of the Federal Constitution, Agong has agreed to appoint Ismail Sabri as the 9th Prime Minister of Malaysia.

The statement further added that Oath of Office as Prime Minister is scheduled for 21 August 2021 (Saturday), at 2.30 pm, at the National Palace.

During the discussion, the Agong has consented to His Royal Highness, the Malay Rulers nomination process will be the new prime minister, following the resignation of Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yaakob on 16 August.