Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Liberty Case News.

― Advertisement ―

HomeMalaysian Badminton Pairs Secure Quarter-Final Spots at 2023 World Championships

Malaysian Badminton Pairs Secure Quarter-Final Spots at 2023 World Championships

In the 2023 World Badminton Championships held in Copenhagen, Denmark, three Malaysian pairs have successfully reached the quarter-finals. Aaron Chia and Soh Wooi Yik, reigning men’s doubles champions, made an impressive comeback in their third-round match against Olympic champions Lee Yang and Wang Chi-Lin of Taiwan. They secured their quarter-final spot with a score of 21-16, 21-18. In the next round, they will face China’s sixth-seeded Liu Yu Chen and Ou Xuan Yi, who defeated Taiwan’s Lu Ching Yao and Yang Po Han with a score of 24-22, 21-16.

Unfortunately, the professional pair Ong Yew Sin and Teo Ee Yi were eliminated from the tournament after losing to the home pair Kim Astrup and Anders Rasmussen with a score of 15-21, 10-21. Similarly, the Malaysian pair Man Wei Chong and Tee Kai Wun faced defeat against China’s third seeds Liang Wei Keng and Wang Chang, with a score of 16-21, 21-14, 17-21.

However, there was a moment of joy for Malaysia in the women’s doubles category as the top pair Pearly Tan and M. Thinaah delivered an outstanding performance. They stunned the fourth-seeded pair Mayu Matsumoto and Wakana Nagahara from Japan with a score of 21-14, 22-20 to secure their spot in the quarter-finals. In the next round, the 10th-seeded Malaysians will face China’s sixth-seeded Zheng Su Xian and Zheng Yu, who won convincingly against Dutch duo Kirsten de Wit and Alyssa Tirtosentono with a score of 21-13, 21-10.

In the mixed doubles category, the Malaysian duo Chen Tang Jie and Toh Ee Wei, seeded 14th, managed to recover from a game down in their third-round match against French seventh seeds Thom Gicquel and Delphine Delrue. They secured their place in the quarter-finals with a score of 20-22, 21-19, 21-12. Tang Jie and Ee Wei will now face second-seeded pair Yuta Watanabe and Arisa Higashino from Japan, who defeated Indonesia’s Rehan Naufal Kusharjanto and Lisa Ayu Kusumawati with a score of 21-14, 21-17.